Moving house

It seems appropriate to be moving the location of this blog at the same time as I prepare to move myself to the other side of the world.  If you’ve followed me from Blogger, welcome to my new, lighter, brighter home. If you’re a new reader, don’t bother looking at the old version of this site, it’s not that interesting, I can assure you.

This blog-shift also signals a new blogging era for me – posting things mostly to update friends and family on my travels and day-to-day life in a faraway place.  Hopefully this new beginning also corresponds with a more dedicated effort to blog regularly, as my past blogs have usually been left in the corner to gather cobwebs.  Perhaps having a captive audience will help?  Who knows.

If you aren’t one of my aforementioned friends or family members, then I’ll briefly introduce myself by telling you that I’m a sciencey-type about to start my graduate study in the USA. I’m moving there from New Zealand, where, up until now, I’ve lived my entire life. If you read my Blogger site you’ll have seen me rage and rant about writing scholarship applications… well, turns out it was all worth it in the end, and after scoring myself a bit of scholarship money, I’m getting paid to study for the next 5 to 7 years.

Take-home message of the day: writing scholarship applications is equal parts mind-numbingly dull and  hair-tearingly frustrating, you’ll have to work your behind off trying to pretend that you’re a well rounded human being when in reality you’re probably a vitamin D-deficient science nerd, you’ll probably get rejected most of the time, but, in the end, boy, is the pay-off ever worth it.*, **

*PS. Current grad students: I know what you’re thinking. I know that at some point in the future I’m going to hate my life, realize that everyone with a real job is far, far richer than me, and regret ever starting grad school.  But for now let me have my moment of unreserved optimism, please.

**Apparently all that writing practice hasn’t helped me resist the urge to write excruciatingly long run-on sentences.

Leave a Reply

